Australian Politics: Barnaby Joyce disqualified from parliament

Australian Politics: Barnaby Joyce disqualified from parliament, by Rosie Lewis.

Barnaby Joyce has been ruled ineligible to sit in parliament by the High Court due to a breach of citizenship laws, along with senators Fiona Nash, Malcolm Roberts and former Greens senators Larissa Waters and Scott Ludlam. Nick Xenophon and former Nationals cabinet minister Matthew Canavan have been found eligible for parliament.

The Turnbull government has been plunged into turmoil and will head to a snap by-election after the High Court ruled Deputy Prime Minister Barnaby Joyce and four other MPs caught in the dual citizenship saga were disqualified from federal parliament.

The ejection of the Nationals leader means the government will lose its one-seat majority in the House of Representatives and likely embolden Labor, which has threatened to cause chaos and confusion if Mr Joyce’s election is deemed invalid. …

Under section 44 of the Constitution, any person who is “a subject or a citizen or entitled to the rights or privileges of a subject or a citizen of a foreign power” is incapable of being chosen or of sitting as an MP.